Sharing

We can share a project with other DSW users or external collaborators. We can access all sharing options by clicking the Share button in the top right.

../../../../_images/share-modal.png

Project sharing settings.

Note

It is not possible to remove the last project owner. To change the project owner, we need to add another user as an owner first.

If we want to only see how Sharing is set up or copy the project link, we can use the arrow button which is a part of the Share button.

../../../../_images/share-dropdown.png

Fast project sharing.

Note

When sharing settings are changed, the changes are saved automatically.

There are different project sharing roles that grant access to different project features:

Note

These are project sharing roles. They apply to this specific project and are separate from global roles. A global role can also grant access to all projects, depending on its permissions.

Viewer Commenter Editor Owner
View project
Metrics
Preview
View documents
Comment on project
Change answers
TODOs
Version history
Create documents
Editor notes
Sharing settings
Project settings

Note

Some of the following options might be globally disabled in the application settings for the whole DSW instance, therefore not visible on the project level.

The following video tutorial explains and showcases sharing options and tools that can be used while collaborating with others. Some features mentioned in the video are also explained in the project questionnaire.

Users

We can choose specific users from the DSW instance and their project sharing role to grant them access to project features based on the table above. This is a good way to add other collaborators that work together with us on the project. Also, this is the only way to add other project owners.

Visible by all other logged-in users

We can enable the Visible by other logged-in users toggle to grant access to the project for all other users without the need to explicitly list them. Then, we can also choose what the users can do – view, comment, or edit the project. We cannot grant owner access this way though.

This can be useful, when we want to have an example project accessible by everybody. We can simply enable this and choose that other users can view the project. We also want to set this up when we create a project template.